Short stories

Nothing is bliss

My generation grew up with that commercial that ran on Discovery Channel, “Ignorance is bliss”. Well, maybe that’s an overstatement, given that most of the people my age didn’t know about TV channels other than the ones with cartoons and music.

Almost two months ago I had an epic night at the FolkU Gala and afterwards at a huge 3D light projection in front of the Parliament. I am not going to go into details about the events (I do have to say that the security measures that were taken for the fireworks were so good, a small camp fire started on the patio of the Parliament). Instead, I am going to write about something I heard that night.

“I didn’t know X was running for President. I don’t watch TV or follow the news and online media. That’s how I am so happy.” I am not a TV person myself, I try to get as many pieces of information as possible from other sources, most of them international. I am not a fan of what is happening to journalism here, and I do not say that in an offensive tone. I know we have great people here in Romania and I do appreciate their work, but the masses, as always, dissapoint me. The question that is actually on my mind is how can you be happy by not knowing?

I am the type of person that tries to get the best out of everything. I see good wherever I go. I have been working with myself, for the past year or so, to eliminate all negative thoughts from my daily routine. I try not to judge and at the same time I give myself the right to trust. In me, in all the people around me, in everything that surrounds me. And above all this, I read all I can get my hands on and keep my eyes wide open for any new learning experience there is. I don’t believe that ignorance is bliss. I don’t believe knowledge is bliss. Nothing is bliss.

We live in a chaotic, perfect in its imperfections world. There are so many stories to be heard and every single one of them has more sides than we can count to. We do not live in a happy place. We make it pleasurable for us and fill it with joy, when we can. And I believe that by doing that and not having a grasp on the events that will later on be the history that will be thought in schools we are simply building a crystal pallace on a fundation of dust. One day the wind will blow against us and it will all crumble. Maybe I am the only one, but I would rather live in a tiny house built on strong rocks, that no earthquake could possibly distroy.

Leave a Reply

