Daily chitchat

The secret art of storytelling

Late last night I was zapping around through my blog feed when I stumbled across a very interesting article asking me “So you want to be a storyteller?”. Well of course, what’s the point in asking?

I don’t know what happened, but this morning when I woke up I found out that my browser lost all the history and Google was not of much help when trying to (re)find this.

Few minutes ago I got a WordPress notification which told me that another blogger mentioned one of my posts in one of her’s. So of course, being the curious cat that I am, I started going through her blog only to find out she recommended the article I first told you about at the end of December. Whoupwhoup or what?

Why am I sharing this with you?

I believe that everybody has a story to tell. At least one, I mean. Storytelling is an art that needs to be fed, of course. And above all, storytelling is, in my opinion, a synesthesia of multiple treats. One needs to be charismatic and outgoing because, let’s face it, how else would you collect all the marvelous stories you will tell?

Besides that, storytelling events do sound like amaizing experiences and I would love to find one here in Bucharest (so if you hear of one, let me now).

4 thoughts on “The secret art of storytelling”

  1. 🙂 It was my turn to be the curious cat, seeing how my post was being mentioned!

    I think that being charismatic and outgoing is one way to collect stories, but you can also collect some really interesting stories by being quiet and observant. They are, however, often very different types of stories.

      1. Very true! I’m ultimately a fiction writer, so I usually tell the stories of others rather than the stories of me. It’s fascinating to watch how someone else reacts to something (while I know generally how I would react to it already).

      2. You can never know your reactions until you have been put in the position of actually reacting. I find life itself a grand source of “writing juice” and I believe you cannot write or tell stories about things you haven’t been through yourself. The story will be there, but it would not be as real, as easier to connect to as a “first-hand” experience. In Romania we have the word “veridic” and I am not quite sure how to explain it in English, maybe “truthful” could be a good replacement. The idea is to make your readers or listeners believe and live in your Universe for a short while. Or at least this is how I view the matter

Leave a Reply

