Daily chitchat

Organizing and para-organizing

Have you ever had those days when you have so much to do you don’t know where to start? It sounds like 3/4 of my week for me. And if I don’t know what to do first I am just gonna not do anything just to make sure I don’t mess things up. 

Oh, ok. So what do you do when you get to those moments? Having eyes that occupy half of the geographical space on my face I tend to be a visual learner and memorizer (does that word really exist? I don’t really care right now). So I have:

  • my writing notebook,
  • my blogging notebook,
  • my school notebook,
  • my work notebook,
  • and my miscellaneous notebook

to keep me company and help me during the day. I must admit that that does not sound like I am being organize and I admit sometimes it drives me crazy to search for something and realize it’s in that “other notebook, the one I forgot home”, but it’s the system I best work with so don’t judge.

I am, however, going to give you some not so vague key-points on how you can keep yourself organized about your tasks or your research points:

  • color coding is one of the most basic things you should do. Decide on some colors and assign them different meanings so that you know what each and every little bullet-point you write reffers to. Try to keep everything to 4-5 sections so you don’t get overly confused (“Is this deep red or brick red, I can’t tell? Should I feed the dog or cook him?” – odd things can happen if you don’t remember the color coding key).
  • buy an agenda or a notebook. I feel like this should have been the first thing I should’ve told you, but I am not going to go back and correct that. Let’s keep it amusing.
  • write everything down. It is going to be hard at first but you will get used to do it rather soon. This way you make sure you don’t forget anything.
  • prioritize! I admit, sometimes it is hard to prioritize our tasks, but try and give everything in you agenda a grade from 1 to 10 just so you know which ones you should start with first. Deadlines are easier to be respected in this way.
  • make checklists. Again, it may take time for you to get used to do this, but you will feel proud everytime you cross something off your list of you put a little thick-mark in front of it (except if you are writing in a DeathNote, then you should feel ashamed of yourself).
  • use post-its inside your agenda for important things you don’t want to forget.
  • try not to lose your agenda after you did all these.

For some free printables that might help you with this I highly recommend this blog!

Leave a Reply

